Apparently, Digital Advertiser Eyewonder.com has been flagged for malware, sending Popular sites Mashable, Icanhascheezburger down the toilet.
EyeWonder, Inc., is the pioneering interactive digital advertising provider, extending the reach of online rich media and interactive video ads to digital device displays. Through its superior technology, products and services, EyeWonder empowers advertisers, advertising
agencies and content publishers with the ability to create, build, deliver, track and optimize interactive advertising campaigns proven to drive industry-leading results.
Headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A., EyeWonder has domestic offices in New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Dallas. International offices are located in the United Kingdom, Ireland, the Netherlands, Germany, Spain and Australia.
We broke the story this morning that visitors of Mashable.com were being greeted with the Malicious Malware warning and can now report that the beloved icanhascheezburger has also been impacted.
So what we know now is the source of the malware, but what is unclear is the actual risk to you or your computer or how many larger media sites are impacted.
Of note, Google seems to be giving both Mashable and Icanhascheezburger a pass as both of their Google page rank remains in tact- what’s up with that?
We’ve reached out to Mashable for comment.
We’ll continue to follow the story.
Developing








Consumerism, Geo-mapping columnist




Marketing columnist
Twitter
Hyperconnectivity is not always a good thing. As an old West Austin blue-blood might say, “One must be exceptionally careful who one associates with.” They couldn’t be more right these days.
The latest updates for this are on the Eyewonder Twitter account: http://twitter.com/_EW
Latest info is that no malware actually appeared on any of the affected sites (CNN, Washington Post, Engadget, Mashable) but instead Google marked the EW domain as a malware site and thus displayed warnings on all network sites.
Facebook | Technorati | Twitter
@_ew @mashable when I asked @mattcutts this morning, I’m guessing he had no idea how widespread it was because it was a pretty casual response- I’d really like to know what the traffic damage was across so many sites.
Dancho over at ZDnet just picked up the story here http://blogs.zdnet.com/security/?p=3694
I know Eyewonder.com isn’t malware because I have seen their ads for years, and never seen any issues, so I’m not surprised that the reports say there was no real malware. I’m annoyed that Google caused such a mess by their malfunctioning software. Please contact Google to fix this quickly so we can view our sites again!!! They are probably off on the 4th of July and not even paying attention to what they have done. Just another example of how Google has gotten too big and has been causing problems for everyone on the web.
The EyeWonder.com site suffered a malware attack on July 3 and caused our domain to be tagged as a malicious by the automated systems at Google. The issue has been resolved. Our ad delivery system and website are fully operational.